Concerted Action CA-RES

The CA-RES3 is a structured and confidential dialogue between national authorities responsible for the implementation of the Directive 2009/28/EC or their nominated representatives. In the CA-RES3, participating countries exchange experience and best practices, participate in a cross-learning process and develop common approaches. The project is the joint initiative of 27 EU Member States (plus Norway and Iceland) and the European Commission (DG ENER, EASME) coordinated by the Austrian Energy Agency in the timeframe between 1 October 2016 and 31 January 2020.

CA-RES3 is organized around 6 CA-RES plenary meetings over the course of 3 years. Compared to the second phase of the Concerted Action, the third phase is organized around 5 Core Themes:

  1. RES Electricity (Art. 3, 4, 6-11, 16)
  2. RES Heat (Art. 3, 13, 14, 16)
  3. Guarantees of Origin and Disclosure (Art. 15)
  4. Biomass Mobilization and Sustainability (Art. 4, 17(9))
  5. RES in Transport (Art. 17-19)

Based on six years of knowledge and experience of the participating countries, an overview of policy instruments and measures promoting the use of RES will be developed, so that the participating countries can build on other successful approaches and avoid pitfalls.

The project is co-funded by the Horizon 2020 Programme of the European Union and it corresponds to item B.2.2. “Coordination of Renewable Energy policies development and implementation through concerted actions with Member States” of the HORIZON 2020 WORK PROGRAMME 2014–2015 10. Secure, clean and efficient energy.

You may find more information under the following link:

The published documents of the previous phases are available here:

Project Dates
ClientHorizon 2020 Programme of the European Union
Project ManagerLeonardo Barreto-Gómez
Project TeamShruti Athavale
Anna Kassai
Rudolf Köstler
Denise Eck
Project PartnerService Public de Wallonie (SPW)
Ministry of Economy (ME)
Ministry of Environment and Energy (MZOE)
Ministry of Energy, Commerce, Industry and Tourism (MECIT)
Ministry of Industry and Trade (MIT)
Danish Energy Agency (DEA)
Ministry of Economic Affairs and Communications (MKM)
Ministry of Employment and the Economy (TEM)
Ministère de l’Environnement, de l'Energie et de la Mer (MEDDE)
Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi)
Center Renewable Energy Sources (CRES)
Hungarian Energy and Public Utility Regulatory (MEKH)
Ministry of Industries and Innovation (ANR)
Department of Communications, Climate Action and Environment (DCCAE)
Gestore dei Servizi Energetici – G.S.E. S.p.a (GSE)
Ministry of Economy (EM)
Ministry of Energy (ENMIN)
Ministry of Economy (MINECO)
The Energy and Water Agency (SEWCU)
Netherlands Enterprise Agency (RVO)
Ministry of Petroleum and Energy (OED)
Polish National Energy Conservation Agency (KAPE)
National Energy and Geology Laboratory (LNEG)
Slovak Innovation and Energy Agency (SIEA)
Ministry of Infrastructure (MZI)
Institute for the Diversification and Energy Saving (IDAE)
Swedish Energy Agency (STEM)
Energy Saving Trust (EST)
Duration10/2016 – 01/2020